Philanthropic Foundations Canada - program Global Giving - Possibilities and Pitfalls

August 15, 2010 | By: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) Mark Blumberg
Topics: Canadian Charity Law

I will be one of the presenters at an upcoming PFC program called Global Giving - Possibilities and Pitfalls.

PFC 2010 Professional Development Sessions
555 René Lévesque Blvd. West
Suite 900
Montreal, QC H2Z 1B1
T. 514.866.5446
F. 514.866.5846
http://www.pfc.ca
Register Now

2010 WEBINAR series
Global Giving: Possibilities and Pitfalls
September 21, 2010
Phone/Internet
featuring

Mark Blumberg, Blumberg Segal LLP,
Connie Wansbrough, Harbinger Foundation
Jennifer Singer, Mastercard Foundation

Many Canadian foundations are increasingly exploring international philanthropy.  There are tremendous opportunities to make a difference but also risks associated with global giving. Learn about the new Canadian government guidance on foreign activities by Canadian charities and hear stories about some successful and other less successful international efforts.

Take an in-depth look at the relationships between Canadian charities and foreign intermediaries and learn about:
• Special issues for foundations conducting international charitable activities
• Practical and ethical standards issues with international activities
• Current thoughts about sustainability

Two PFC members, the Harbinger Foundation and the Mastercard Foundation will also share stories on possibilities and pitfalls in their international work and the valuable lessons learned.

Who is this for? Foundation board members and staff
Time: 10 am (Pacific), 11 am (Mountain), 12 noon (Central), 1 pm (Eastern), 2 pm (Atlantic), and 2:30 pm (Newfoundland).
Cost: FREE for members, $25 non-members.

Do you require legal advice with respect to Canadian or Ontario non-profits or charities?

Contact

Charity Lawyer Mark Blumberg

Mark Blumberg is a partner at the law firm of Blumberg Segal LLP in Toronto and works almost exclusively in the areas of non-profit and charity law.

mark@blumbergs.ca
416.361.1982
Download vCard

Connect

Locate

Blumberg Segal LLP
Barristers & Solicitors
#1202 - 390 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2Y2 Canada

Charity Law List

Join Blumbergs' non-profit and charities newsletter
View recent issue: December 2018